Captured live in concert, the members of Trio East (Jenkins, Campbell and Thompson) display the communication and intuition developed through years of collaborating since first meeting on the Eastman School of Music faculty in 2001. On this date, the group is joined by two long-time friends and colleagues: pianist Harold Danko and guitarist Larry Koonse. The spontaneity of the live performance provides dynamic contrast with the companion studio session recorded two days later and released as For The Love (Sons of Sound SSPCD033). Taken together, these recordings document a performing unit at the height of its powers.


01 I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart (06:48)
02 In Fine Line (06:30)
03 Sixth Sense (12:37)
04 Candle (07:07)
05 Just For Love (10:35)
06 Happy House (08:24)
07 San Francisco Holiday (07:28)
08 Love Alone (03:47)
09 Why Don't I (09:45)
download bonus track:
10 Very Early (08:32)


Clay JENKINS, trumpet
Jeff CAMPBELL, bass
Rich THOMPSON, drums
Harold DANKO, piano
Larry KOONSE, guitar

Special Guests

HAROLD DANKO is well recognized from long-term associations with many jazz legends, including Chet Baker, Gerry Mulligan, Thad Jones/Mel Lewis, Lee Konitz, and Woody Herman. He is also a band leader, composer, and solo pianist. As a leader he has been featured at the Rochester International Jazz Festival, Lincoln Center, and the Kennedy Center. Harold has been on the faculty of the Eastman School of Music since 1998 and served as Jazz Studies Chair from 2002 to 2011.

LARRY KOONSE began his career touring with the John Dankworth quartet in support of Cleo Laine. He became co-leader of the L.A. Jazz Quartet and has also toured with Mel Tormé, Bob Brookmeyer, John Patitucci, Karrin Allyson, Luciana Souza, Natalie Cole, Bob Mintzer, and Peter Erskine. Larry has been on the faculty of the California Institute of the Arts since 1990 and is currently a member of Billy Child’s sextet and a trio led by Tierney Sutton that includes Hubert Laws.